Sydney 10: 2019 Results


    Sydney 10km 2019A new and improved faster course was presented to the runners for the Annual running of Athletics NSW 10km State Championships.  The Sydney 10 has in the past been an event with a deep field aiding runners onto run their own personal bests and this year did not disappoint.

    Perfect running conditions on Saturday 4th May were a win for the athletes as team AE had a large representation in both the ladies and men’s division.

    A hasty and startling gun fire indicated the start of the 10km Championships and runners were off. Karl Baddeley was out of the blocks quickly as he chased down a pb and was followed closely by Godwin Mugarula. Godwin prevailed leading the men’s team home in 33:23 with Karl Baddeley second home going sub 34 in a new pb of 33:54. Continuing the trend of PBs was Michael MV who went well under sub 35 with a PB of 34:49 and was pipped home by 1 second by James Costello.  Congratulations to Chris Stone who made his AE debut and was rewarded with a new pb of 41:45


    In the ladies race Lisa Thompson paid for an overly fast paced start but led the ladies home in her fastest time recorded for a number of years in 38:32.  Rona MacNiven was the second lady home running an even and well paced race, far exceeding her expectations finishing in a very tidy 40:57 and was helped by team mates Rebecca Holmes (42:39) and Sally Hannah (43:43) as the first four finishes for the teams event.


    Full results below and team results to follow when they are released:

    Open Men:

    Godwin Mugarula – 33:23
    Karl Baddeley – 33:54 PB
    Michael MV – 34:49 PB
    James Patrick Costello – 34:48
    Darren Purcell – 35:17
    Sheng Bosco Huang – 36:24
    Campbell Dawson – 37:56
    Mark Gregory – 38:15
    Martin Cosby – 40:04
    Andrew Harris – 40:51
    Chris Paul Gratien Stone – 41:45 PB

    Female Open
    Lisa Thompson – 38:32
    Rona Macniven – 40:57
    Rebecca Holmes – 42:39
    Sally Hannah – 43:43
    Jude Gregory – 44:37
    Jackie Wright – 44:45

    May 8th, 2019 | Lisa Biffin | Comments Off on Sydney 10: 2019 Results | Tags: , ,

About The Author

Lisa Biffin

Comments are closed.